Nina C. Young

Composer and Sound Artist

Title: Adieu
Performer: The Independent Orchestra and Chamber Players at McGill, Michal Novotny, conductor.
Instrumentation: orchestra
Duration: 08:26
Year Composed: (2008, rev.2010)

Program Note:
Written in 2008, revised in 2010, Adieu is an elegy to Igor Loch (1917 - 2008). The work comments on the beauty and fragility of life, yet also the calm and relief of death. The piece contains three core harmonies, which are orchestrated, re-orchestrated, and juxtaposed to shift our perspective on their sonic and emotional implications.
Nina C. Young - composer