Nina C. Young

Composer and Sound Artist

Title: Metal Works - Part 1 (2014)
Instrumentation: piano and electronics
Duration: 12:30 [Total duration ~30 minutes, to be completed 2015]

Program Note:

Metal Works is a suite of five pieces for piano and electronics that are tied together with a series of electro-acoustic interludes. Each movement draw inspiration from a concept of metal (be it scientific, poetic, or historic). In preparing this piece I spent time collecting metallic sounds, visiting industrial environments, and deep listening to the percussive and resonant aspects of metallic objects. The piano, with its tightly wound metal strings, becomes a resonant cavity in which I can translate concepts such as luster, torsion, and corrosion into the sonic medium.

Above you are presented with the first two of five movements and their accompanying interludes. I thank Kathleen Supovè for taking on this piece and would like to give my deep gratitude to the ASCAP/SEAMUS Student Commission for helping make this first installment of Metal Works possible.

Nina C. Young - composer